The Lucknow Super Giants are excited to announce their preliminary squad for the 18th edition of the IPL to be held in 2024. Led by KL Rahul, LSG will look to further build on their strong performances of consecutive playoff appearances in the past two seasons.

Joining a explosive batting line-up filled with international superstars like Quinton de Kock, Nicholas Pooran and budding local talent like Ayush Badoni, Prerak Mankad will be the swashbuckling left-hander Devdutt Padikkal, who is in imperious form in domestic cricket. LSG’s bowling lineup, which impressed last season, will be further bolstered by the availability of Mohsin Khan, who was injured for a major part of IPL 2023 and young speedster Mayank Yadav.

Newly appointed head coach Justin Langer said, “LSG has built a strong foundation in the past two years and achieved good success. We want to take it to the next level by improving our squad constantly and that is what we will try to achieve in the auction.”

On the retentions, team owner Dr. Sanjiv Goenka said “We have a settled and balanced squad of players who have performed well for us over the last two seasons, and we definitely wanted to retain that core going into IPL 2024 as well. It's always difficult to release players, and I want to say a big thank you to all of them – you will always be part of the Super Giants family and we wish you all the best going forward."

With a well-balanced line-up, LSG will be looking at strategic buys in the upcoming auction to complete a squad that will challenge for the title in the seasons to come.

Here’s the full list of retained and signed players:

  • KL Rahul (c)
  • Krunal Pandya
  • Quinton de Kock
  • Nicholas Pooran
  • Marcus Stoinis
  • Deepak Hooda
  • Kyle Mayers
  • Devdutt Padikkal (Traded from RR)
  • Ayush Badoni
  • Prerak Mankad
  • K Gowtham
  • Mark Wood
  • Naveen ul Haq
  • Ravi Bishnoi
  • Mohsin Khan
  • Yash Thakur
  • Yudhvir Singh
  • Amit Mishra
  • Mayank Yadav

The following players have been released:

  • Romario Shepherd (Traded to MI)
  • Avesh Khan (Traded to RR)
  • Daniel Sams
  • Karun Nair
  • Jaydev Unadkat
  • Manan Vohra
  • Karan Sharma
  • Suryansh Shedge
  • Swapnil Singh
  • Arpit Guleria